account Positions &
Workspace Roles

Business Account Positions

Every person in your business account is assigned to one of five distinct positions when they are on-boarded onto LockDown.

Each position has certain capabilities and permissions, as outlined below.

You may have as many people in each position as you like.

Owners

Top-level users who can view and manage everything

Owners have complete visibility over everything that is happening in their corporate account and may perform all actions (such as creating Workspaces, contributing content and controlling access and permissions) but are not required to be hands-on in the system.

Administrators

Hands-on users who control account access

The primary function of Admin(s) is to add/remove people as Managers, Members and Guests to the company account. Admins may create, moderate and contribute to Workspaces, as well as handle billing and account administration.

Managers

Leaders who create Workspaces and manage projects or teams

Managers can add/remove people as Members and Guests to the company account. They may also create, moderate, and contribute to Workspaces.

Members & Guests

Collaborators from inside and/or outside your company

Members and guests may contribute to Workspaces. They are not permitted to add people to the company account or to individual Workspaces.

Administrators can clearly delineate between internal (“Members” – employees) or external (“Guests” – vendors, suppliers, customers) users.

Workspace Roles

Each Workspace has three roles: Moderator, Contributor and Custom. Each roles’ capabilities are outlined below.

  • Moderators can:
    • contribute, archive and delete messages and files
    • view activity logs
    • control access (add/remove people in the Workspace)
    • view and adjust Workspace permissions
  • Contributors can:
    • contribute and archive messages and files
    • view activity logs
  • Custom is a special category that Moderators can use to assign custom Workspace permissions. Custom contributors can:
    • contribute and archive messages and files
    • view activity logs

Owners are automatically included in every Workspace as a Moderator.

The person who creates a Workspace is automatically assigned the role of Moderator.

Members and Guests are not permitted to create Workspaces. They may be added to a Workspace a Moderator.

CONTROLLED

PROTECTED

SECURED

Try LockDown with your team for free